Marriage Licenses

Marriage License Checklist

  • Bride & groom must come into the County Clerk’s office together

  • The marriage ceremony must take place within the State of Idaho

  • Bride & groom must be of legal age (18 years old)

  • Bride & groom must provide a social security number. If one has not been assigned then you will need all of the following: written verification from the Social Security Administration that you have not been assigned a number, a birth certificate or passport, and other proof lawfully present in the United States

  • Blood tests are not required and there is not a waiting period

  • Cost of the marriage license is $28.00

Marriage License Checklist For Minors (one or both under age 18)

  • The bride & groom must come into the Recorder’s office together

  • The marriage ceremony must take place within the state of Idaho

  • A valid drivers license or picture ID is required. If valid ID is not available then a witness (with valid ID) must accompany the couple

  • The bride and groom must be at least 16 years old. They must have a certified copy of their birth certificate. It must be a copy from the state they were born in, and will have a raised or colored seal. It cannot be a copy from the hospital with footprints.

  • A custodial parent or legal guardian of the minor couple must accompany the couple and give permission for them to be married. The parent or legal guardian must also show valid picture ID. The legal guardian must also bring a certified copy of the court papers showing guardianship.

  • Bride & groom must provide a social security number. If one has not been assigned then you will need all of the following: written verification from the Social Security Administration that you have not been assigned a number, a birth certificate or passport, and other proof lawfully present in the United States

  • Blood tests are not required and there is not a waiting period

  • Cost of the marriage license is $28.00

Marriage License Checklist For Minors (one or both under age 16)

  • An order of the Court.

State of Idaho Marriage Laws: Solemnization of Marriage